Olympic history

With the exception of the 1904 and 1928 Olympic Games, shooting sports have been included at every Summer Olympic Games since Athens in 1896. The number of events has changed from one edition of the Games to the next, increasing from five in 1896 to 15 today. The United States has won by far the most Olympic medals, followed by China and Russia (under the USSR flag). Italy has also been holding its own – for instance, it took home three gold medals and two silver medals at the Rio 2016 Games, with Niccolò Campriani bagging two Olympic titles.

Brief overview of the rules

There are three Olympic shooting disciplines: rifle, pistol and shotgun. Rifle and pistol events take place on shooting ranges, where marksmen aim at targets at distances of 10m, 25m and 50m. There are also three positions: kneeling (where the marksman goes down on one knee and rests the elbow on the other knee), prone and standing. Some events include all positions.  

To hit the targets as accurately and as close to the centre – the bullseye – as possible, marksmen use relaxation techniques to lower their heartbeat. Shotgun events are different in principle, as they take place outdoors. Marksmen shoot at flying targets fired from different angles and directions. This sport demands a great deal of concentration, decision making and sharp reflexes.

Events in 2024

The shooting events will take place between the 27th of July and the 5th of August.

  • 10m Air Rifle (women’s / men’s / mixed team)
  • 50m Rifle 3 Positions (women’s / men’s)
  • 10m Air Pistol (women’s / men’s / mixed team)
  • 25m Rapid Fire Pistol (men’s)
  • 25m Pistol (women’s)
  • Trap (women’s / men’s)
  • Skeet (women’s / men’s / mixed team)